TCC 2012: Call for Papers

Important Dates:

Conference March 19-21, 2012
Submission Deadline September 15, 2011
Notification of Decision December 1, 2011
Proceedings Version Due January 3, 2012

CFP in PDF: Found Here
Conference site:
Submission site:

The Ninth Theory of Cryptography Conference will be held in Taormina, Italy, sponsored by the International Association for Cryptologic Research (IACR). Papers presenting original research on foundational and theoretical aspects of cryptography are sought.

The Theory of Cryptography Conference deals with the paradigms, approaches, and techniques used to conceptualize natural cryptographic problems and provide algorithmic solutions to them. More specifically, the scope of the conference includes, but is not limited to the:

  • Study of known paradigms, approaches, and techniques, directed towards their better understanding and utilization,
  • Discovery of new paradigms, approaches and techniques that overcome limitations of the existing ones,
  • Formulation and treatment of new cryptographic problems,
  • Study of notions of security and relations among them,
  • Modeling and analysis of cryptographic algorithms, and
  • Study of the complexity assumptions used in cryptography.

The Theory of Cryptography Conference is dedicated to the dissemination of results within its scope. The conference aims to provide a meeting place for researchers and to be instrumental in shaping the identity of the theoretical cryptography community.

Instructions for authors: The submission should begin with a title, followed by the names, affiliations and contact information of all authors, and a short abstract. It should contain a scholarly exposition of ideas, techniques, and results, including motivation and a clear comparison with related work. Submissions should be typeset with 11pt or larger font and reasonable spacing and margins. They should not exceed 12 letter-sized pages, not counting the title page, bibliography and appendices. Reviewers are not required to read appendices; the paper should be intelligible without them. Submissions must not substantially duplicate work that was published elsewhere, or work that any of the authors has submitted in parallel to any other conference or workshop that has proceedings. The evaluation process is not anonymous. Authors of accepted papers are expected to present their paper at the conference.

Submission instructions: Papers must be submitted electronically through the submission web page. Electronic submissions must conform to the procedure described in the submission server and must be received by the deadline indicated above. Electronic submission via the described interface is the only form of submission considered.

Best student paper award: This prize is for the best paper authored solely by students, where a student is a person that is considered a student by the respective institution at the time of the paper's submission. Eligibility must be indicated in the "Comments to Chair" at the time of submission. The program committee may decline to make the award, or may split it among several papers.

Proceedings: Proceedings will be published in Springer-Verlag's Lecture Notes in Computer Science Series and will be available at the conference. Instructions for preparing the final proceedings version will be sent to the authors of accepted papers. The final copies of the accepted papers will be due on January 3, 2012. This is a strict deadline, and authors should prepare accordingly.

Program Committee:

  • Masa Abe (NTT)
  • Amos Beimel (Ben-Gurion University)
  • Alexandra Boldyreva (Georgia Tech)
  • Ronald Cramer (Chair) (CWI, Amsterdam & Leiden University)
  • Iftach Haitner (Tel Aviv University)
  • Martin Hirt (ETH Zurich)
  • Dennis Hofheinz (Karlsruhe Inst of Techn)
  • Jonathan Katz (University of Maryland)
  • Vadim Lyubashevsky (ENS)
  • Tal Malkin (Columbia University)
  • Daniele Micciancio (UCSD)
  • Jesper Buus Nielsen (Aarhus University)
  • Carles Padró (Nanyang Technological University)
  • Mike Rosulek (University of Montana)
  • Amit Sahai (UCLA)
  • Berry Schoenmakers (TU Eindhoven)
  • Vinod Vaikuntanathan University of Toronto)
  • Daniel Wichs (IBM Research)
  • Juerg Wullschleger (Université de Montréal & McGill)
  • Moti Yung (Google)

Program Chair: Ronald Cramer
General Chairs: Nelly Fazio, Rosario Gennaro

TCC Steering Committee Members: Mihir Bellare, Ivan Damgard, Oded Goldreich (chair), Shafi Goldwasser, Johan Hastad, Russell Impagliazzo, Ueli Maurer, Silvio Micali, Moni Naor, and Tatsuaki Okamoto.

TCC web site: