International Association for Cryptologic Research

International Association
for Cryptologic Research


Fluid MPC: Secure Multiparty Computation with Dynamic Participants

Arka Rai Choudhuri , Johns Hopkins University
Aarushi Goel , Johns Hopkins University
Matthew Green , Johns Hopkins University
Abhishek Jain , Johns Hopkins University
Gabriel Kaptchuk , Boston University
DOI: 10.1007/978-3-030-84245-1_4 (login may be required)
Search ePrint
Search Google
Conference: CRYPTO 2021
Abstract: Existing approaches to secure multiparty computation (MPC) require all participants to commit to the entire duration of the protocol. As interest in MPC continues to grow, it is inevitable that there will be a desire to use it to evaluate increasingly complex functionalities, resulting in computations spanning several hours or days. Such scenarios call for a *dynamic* participation model for MPC where participants have the flexibility to go offline as needed and (re)join when they have available computational resources. Such a model would also democratize access to privacy-preserving computation by facilitating an ``MPC-as-a-service'' paradigm --- the deployment of MPC in volunteer-operated networks (such as blockchains, where dynamism is inherent) that perform computation on behalf of clients. In this work, we initiate the study of *fluid MPC*, where parties can dynamically join and leave the computation. The minimum commitment required from each participant is referred to as *fluidity*, measured in the number of rounds of communication that it must stay online. Our contributions are threefold: - We provide a formal treatment of fluid MPC, exploring various possible modeling choices. - We construct information-theoretic fluid MPC protocols in the honest-majority setting. Our protocols achieve *maximal fluidity*, meaning that a party can exit the computation after receiving and sending messages in one round. - We implement our protocol and test it in multiple network settings.
Video from CRYPTO 2021
  title={Fluid MPC: Secure Multiparty Computation with Dynamic Participants},
  author={Arka Rai Choudhuri and Aarushi Goel and Matthew Green and Abhishek Jain and Gabriel Kaptchuk},