Aug 19 – 23
Santa Barbara




Call for Papers



The call for papers is also available in PDF.

Important Dates


Submission deadline:


February 17, 2012 at 23:59 UTC (3:59 pm PST)

Notification of decision:

April 30, 2012

Proceedings version due:

June 1, 2012


August 19-23, 2012

General Information

Original papers on all technical aspects of cryptology are solicited for submission to CRYPTO 2012, the 32nd Annual International Cryptology Conference. This includes works on foundational, and application and implementation oriented topics. New cryptographic models and solutions to real-world problems, and innovative “out of the box” papers are particularly solicited. CRYPTO 2012 is sponsored by the International Association for Cryptologic Research (IACR), in cooperation with the Computer Science Department of the University of California, Santa Barbara.

Instructions for Authors

Submissions must be at most 12 pages, excluding references and appendices. The paper must be in single-column format, use at least 11-point fonts, and have reasonable margins. Submissions should begin with a title, a short abstract, and a list of keywords. The introduction should summarize the paper’s contributions at a level understandable to a non-expert in the field. Reviewers are not required to read appendices, so papers should be intelligible without them. Submissions must be presented in a way that allows the understanding and verification of the claimed results with reasonable time and effort.

Submissions must be anonymous with no author names, affiliations, or obvious references. It is recognized that, sometimes, information regarding the identities of authors inevitably becomes public outside the paper submission. The PC will ignore this external information.


Submissions should be prepared using LaTeX and submitted as PDF using type-1 fonts. Papers must be submitted electronically; a detailed description of the electronic submission procedure will be provided on the conference homepage.


Submissions must not substantially duplicate work that any of the authors published, submitted, or is planning to submit before the notification-date to any journal, or conference/workshop with proceedings. Accepted submissions may not appear in any other conference or workshop that has proceedings. The program committee may share information about submitted papers with other conference chairs to ensure adherence to this policy. Authors uncertain whether their submission meets the IACR rules should contact the program chair. The authors of submitted papers guarantee that their paper will be presented at the conference if it is accepted. Submissions not meeting any of the guidelines above risk rejection without consideration of their merits.


Proceedings will be published in Springer’s Lecture Notes in Computer Science series, and will be available at the conference. Instructions for the preparation of the proceedings version will be sent to the authors of accepted papers. Authors will need to provide a signed IACR Copyright form along with the proceedings version of their papers.


A limited number of stipends are available to those unable to obtain funding to attend the conference, and to students having an accepted paper that they will present. Requests for stipends should be addressed to the general chair.

Program Committee


Benny Applebaum

Tel-Aviv University, Israel

Dan Boneh

Stanford, USA

Colin Boyd

QUT, Australia

Ran Canetti

Boston Univ.& Tel Aviv Univ., USA&Israel

Ivan Damgård

Aarhus University, Denmark

Yevgeniy Dodis

New York University, USA

Serge Fehr

CWI Amsterdam, The Netherlands

Cédric Fournet

Microsoft Research, UK

Marc Fischlin

Darmstadt University of Technology, Germany

Pierre-Alain Fouque

École Normale Supérieure, France

Juan Garay

AT&T Labs - Research, USA

Steven Galbraith

The University of Auckland, New Zealand

Jens Groth

University College London, UK

Susan Hohenberger

Johns Hopkins University, USA

Yuval Ishai

Technion, Israel

Ari Juels

RSA Laboratories, USA

Yael Kalai

Microsoft Research, USA

Hugo Krawczyk

IBM Research, USA

Ralf Küsters

University of Trier, Germany

Aggelos Kiayias

University of Connecticut, USA

Kaoru Kurosawa

Ibaraki University, Japan

Stefan Lucks

Bauhaus-Universität Weimar, Germany

Tal Malkin

Columbia University, USA

Alexander May

Ruhr-University Bochum, Germany

Daniele Micciancio

University of California at San Diego, USA

Kaisa Nyberg

Aalto University and Nokia, Finland

Tatsuaki Okamoto

NTT, Japan

Kenny Paterson

Royal Holloway, University of London, UK

Chris Peikert

Georgia Tech, USA

Thomas Peyrin

Nanyang Technological University, Singapore

Bart Preneel

KU Leuven, Belgium

Renato Renner

ETH Zurich, Switzerland

Rei Safavi-Naini

University of Calgary, Canada

Palash Sarkar

Indian Statistical Institute, Kolkata, India

François-Xavier Standaert

UCL, Belgium

Damien Stehlé

CNRS and ENS de Lyon, France

Thomas Shrimpton

Portland State University, USA

Tsuyoshi Takagi

Kyushu University, Japan

Eran Tromer

Tel Aviv University, Israel

Dominique Unruh

University of Tartu, Estonia

Vinod Vaikuntanathan

University of Toronto, Canada



Program Chair                Program co-Chair                  General Chair


Rei Safavi-Naini                       Ran Canetti                                     Yiqun Lisa Yin        

University of Calgary               Boston Univ. & Tel Aviv Univ.           Independent Security Consultant

Advisory Member


Phil Rogaway

CRYPTO 2011 Program Chair