International Association for Cryptologic Research

International Association
for Cryptologic Research

IACR News item: 25 March 2021

Award Award
We are proud to announce the winners of the 2021 IACR Test-of-Time Award. This award honors papers published at the 3 IACR flagship conferences 15 years ago which have had a lasting impact on the field.

The Test-of-Time award for Eurocrypt 2006 is awarded to "A provable-security treatment of the key-wrap problem" (Phillip Rogaway and Thomas Shrimpton), for placing the important real world primitive of key-wrapping on a solid theoretic foundation.

The Test-of-Time award for Crypto 2006 is awarded to "New proofs for NMAC and HMAC: Security without collision-resistance" (Mihir Bellare), for proving that the security of the widely deployed HMAC construction does not depend on the collision resistance of the underlying hash function.

The Test-of-Time award for Asiacrypt 2006 is awarded to "Simulation-sound NIZK proofs for a practical language and constant size group signatures" (Jens Groth), for constructing asymptotically optimal NIZK proofs and group signatures without using random oracles, and paving the way to practical constructions.

For more information, see

Additional news items may be found on the IACR news page.