Fast Software Encryption 2006

March 15-17
Graz, Austria

Call for Papers

FSE 2006 is the 13th annual Fast Software Encryption workshop, for the fifth year sponsored by the International Association for Cryptologic Research (IACR). Original research papers on symmetric cryptology are invited for submission to FSE 2006. The workshop concentrates on fast and secure primitives for symmetric cryptography, including the design and analysis of block ciphers, stream ciphers, encryption schemes, analysis and evaluation tools, hash functions, and message authentication codes (MACs).

Important dates

Submission deadline November 25, 2005
Notification of decision January 27, 2006
Pre-proceedings version deadline    February 24, 2006
Workshop March 15 - 17, 2006
Proceedings version deadline April 7, 2006

Instructions for Authors

Submissions must not substantially duplicate work that any of the authors has published elsewhere or has submitted in parallel to any other international conference or workshop that has proceedings.

The submission must be anonymous, with no author names, affiliations, acknowledgments, or obvious references. It should begin with a title, a short abstract, and a list of keywords. The length of the submission should be at most 12 pages excluding bibliography and appendices. It should have reasonably sized margins and fonts (at least 10pt). The introduction should summarize the contributions of the paper at a level appropriate for a non-specialist reader. Committee members are not required to read appendices; the paper should be intelligible without them. Submissions not meeting these guidelines risk rejection without consideration of their merits.

It is strongly preferred that submissions be processed in LaTeX according to the instructions listed on since these are mandatory for the final papers. Submitted papers must be in PDF or postscript format and should be submitted electronically. Detailed description of the electronic submission procedure will be available via

Authors of accepted papers must guarantee that their paper will be presented at the workshop.


Pre-proceedings will be available at the workshop. Proceedings are intended to be published in Springer-Verlag's Lecture Notes in Computer Science series. Authors of accepted papers will be required to complete the IACR copyright assignment form at for their work to be published in the workshop proceedings.

Program Committee

Kazumaro Aoki NTT, Japan
Steve Babbage Vodafone, U.K.
Anne Canteaut INRIA, France
Carlos Cid Royal Holloway, University of London, U.K.
Joan Daemen STMicroelectronics, Belgium
Orr Dunkelman Technion - Israel Institute of Technology, Israel
Helena Handschuh Spansion, France
Thomas Johansson Lund University, Sweden
Antoine Joux DGA + University of Versailles, France
Charanjit Jutla IBM Watson, U.S.A.
Xuejia Lai Shanghai Jiaotong University, China
Stefan Lucks University of Mannheim, Germany
Mitsuru Matsui Mitsubishi Electric, Japan
Willi Meier FH Aargau, Switzerland
Kaisa Nyberg Nokia, Finland
Elisabeth Oswald Graz University of Technology, Austria
Bart Preneel K.U.Leuven, Belgium
Håvard Raddum University of Bergen, Norway
Matt Robshaw (chair)  France Telecom R&D, France
Phillip Rogaway U.C.Davis, U.S.A. + Mah Fah Luang Univ., Thailand
Moti Yung Columbia University, U.S.A.

Workshop Information and Stipends

The primary source of information is but any remaining questions can be sent to a limited number of stipends are available to those unable to obtain funding to attend the workshop. Students, whose papers are accepted and who will present the paper themselves, are encouraged to apply if such assistance is needed. Requests for stipends should be sent to