Call for Papers

Submission Deadline 9:00pm EDT, May 24, 2017
Notification of Decision August 30, 2017
Proceedings Version Due September 22, 2017

The Fifteenth Theory of Cryptography Conference will be held in Baltimore, MD, USA, sponsored by the International Association for Cryptologic Research (IACR). Papers presenting original research on foundational and theoretical aspects of cryptography are sought. For more information about TCC, see the TCC manifesto.

The Theory of Cryptography Conference deals with the paradigms, approaches, and techniques used to conceptualize natural cryptographic problems and provide algorithmic solutions to them. More specifically, the scope of the conference includes, but is not limited to the:

  • Study of known paradigms, approaches, and techniques, directed towards their better understanding and utilization.
  • Discovery of new paradigms, approaches and techniques that overcome limitations of the existing ones.
  • Formulation and treatment of new cryptographic problems.
  • Study of notions of security and relations among them.
  • Modeling and analysis of cryptographic algorithms.
  • Study of the complexity assumptions used in cryptography.
  • The Theory of Cryptography Conference is dedicated to providing a premier venue for the dissemination of results within its scope. The conference aims to provide a meeting place for researchers and to be instrumental in shaping the identity of the theoretical cryptography community.

    Instructions for Authors

    The submission should begin with a title, followed by the names, affiliations and contact information of all authors, and a short abstract. It should contain a scholarly exposition of ideas, techniques, and results, including motivation and a clear comparison with related work. The authors have two choices for the paper format. They may typeset their paper using Springer LNCS format with page numbers enabled (\pagestyle{plain}), keeping spacing, font sizes, and margins provided by the format. Alternatively, they may typeset their paper to fit on US letter or ISO A4 paper with at least 11pt font and reasonable spacing and margins. There is no page limit, but the paper should be intelligible by reviewers who are not required to read past the 15th page of the Springer format or past the 12th page of any other format.

    Submissions must not substantially duplicate work that was published elsewhere, or work that any of the authors has submitted in parallel to any other journal, conference, or workshop that has proceedings; see the IACR policy on irregular submissions for more information.

    At least one author of each accepted paper is required to present the paper at the conference; presentations will be recorded and made available to the public online. Authors are strongly encouraged to post full versions of their submissions in a freely accessible online repository, such as the Cryptology ePrint archive. We encourage the authors to post such a version at the time of submission (in which case the authors should provide a link on the title page of their submission). At the minimum, we expect that authors of accepted papers will post a full version of their papers by the camera-ready deadline. Abstracts of accepted papers will be made public by the PC following the notification.

    Contacting the Authors

    At submission time, authors must provide one or several email addresses for corresponding authors. Throughout the review period, at least one corresponding author is expected to be available to receive and quickly answer questions (via email) that arise about their submissions.

    Submission instructions

    Papers must be submitted electronically through the submission web page. The authors are allowed to revise the paper any number of times before the submission deadline, and only the latest submitted version will be seen by the PC. Therefore, the authors are advised not to wait until the last moment for the initial submission.

    Best student paper award

    This prize is for the best paper authored solely by students, where a student is a person that is considered a student by the respective institution at the time of the paper's submission. Eligibility must be indicated at the time of submission (using a checkbox in the submission form). The program committee may decline to make the award, or may split it among several papers.


    Proceedings will be published in Lecture Notes in Computer Science (LNCS) with Springer. The on-line version will be available at the conference. Physical books will be available after the conference for a separate fee. Instructions for preparing the final proceedings version will be sent to the authors of accepted papers. The final copies of the accepted papers will be due on the camera-ready deadline listed above. This is a strict deadline, and authors should prepare accordingly.

    Program Committee:

    Benny Applebaum (Tel-Aviv University)

    Elette Boyle (IDC Herzliya)

    Nir Bitansky (MIT)

    Zvika Brakerski (Weizmann Institute of Science)

    Ran Canetti (Boston University and Tel Aviv University)

    Alessandro Chiesa (University of California, Berkeley)

    Kai-Min Chung (Academia Sinica)

    Dana Dachman-Soled (University of Maryland)

    Stefan Dziembowski (University of Warsaw)

    Serge Fehr (CWI Amsterdam)

    Ben Fuller (University of Connecticut)

    Divya Gupta (Microsoft Research India)

    Carmit Hazay (Bar-Ilan University, Israel)

    Yael Kalai (Microsoft Research New England) (co-chair)

    Anja Lehmann (IBM Research - Zurich)

    Benoît Libert (CNRS and ENS de Lyon, France)

    Pratyay Mukherjee (Visa Research, USA)

    Omer Paneth (MIT)

    Rafael Pass (Cornell)

    Krzysztof Pietrzak (IST Austria)

    Mariana Raykova (Yale)

    Leonid Reyzin (Boston University) (co-chair)

    Guy Rothblum (Weizmann Institute of Science)

    Ron Rothblum (MIT)

    Amit Sahai (University of California, Los Angeles)

    Elaine Shi (Cornell)

    Stefano Tessaro (University of California, Santa Barbara)

    Salil Vadhan (Harvard)

    Daniel Wichs (Northeastern University)

    Hoeteck Wee (CNRS and ENS)

    Yu Yu (Shanghai Jiao Tong University)

    Mark L. Zhandry (Princeton University)

    Hong-Sheng Zhou (Virginia Commonwealth University)

    General Chair

    Abhishek Jain (Johns Hopkins University)

    TCC Steering Committee Members

    Mihir Bellare (UCSD, USA); Ivan Damgard (Aarhus U., Denmark); Shai Halevi [chair] (IBM, USA); Russell Impagliazzo (UCSD, USA); Tal Malkin (Columbia U., USA); Ueli Maurer (ETH, Switzerland); and Moni Naor (Weizmann Institute, Israel).

    TCC web site: