The Tenth Theory of Cryptography Conference (TCC2013) , March 3-6, 2013, Tokyo, Japan


Call for papers

Submission server:

Submission Deadline 16:00 JST(Tokyo Time), September 1, 2012
this is 07:00 UTC / GMT on September 1, 2012)
Notification of Decision December 1, 2012
Proceedings Version Due December 24, 2012
Conference March 3-6, 2013

The Tenth Theory of Cryptography Conference will be held in Tokyo, Japan, sponsored by the International Association for Cryptologic Research (IACR). Papers presenting original research on foundational and theoretical aspects of cryptography are sought.

The Theory of Cryptography Conference deals with the paradigms, approaches, and techniques used to conceptualize natural cryptographic problems and provide algorithmic solutions to them. More specifically, the scope of the conference includes, but is not limited to the:

•Study of known paradigms, approaches, and techniques, directed towards their better understanding and utilization,
•Discovery of new paradigms, approaches and techniques that overcome limitations of the existing ones,
•Formulation and treatment of new cryptographic problems,
•Study of notions of security and relations among them,
•Modeling and analysis of cryptographic algorithms, and
•Study of the complexity assumptions used in cryptography.

The Theory of Cryptography Conference is dedicated to providing a premier venue for the dissemination of results within its scope. The conference aims to provide a meeting place for researchers and to be instrumental in shaping the identity of the theoretical cryptography community.

Instructions for authors

The submission should begin with a title, followed by the names, affiliations and contact information of all authors, and a short abstract. The Introduction should contain a scholarly exposition of ideas, techniques, and results, including motivation and a clear comparison of ideas, techniques, and results with related work. Submissions should be typeset with 11pt or larger font and reasonable spacing and margins. There is no page limit for submissions. However, reviewers are not required to read beyond the 14th page (not counting the title page); the paper should be intelligible reading only the first 14 pages. Submissions must not substantially duplicate work that was published in conference proceedings or journal articles elsewhere, or work that any of the authors has submitted in parallel to any other conference or workshop that has proceedings. Submissions must include a corresponding author's email contact information; the corresponding author should be ready to receive and quickly provide answers to questions about their submissions by email. Authors of accepted papers are expected to present their paper at the conference. PC members are limited to two submissions per PC member.

Authors are encouraged to post full versions of their submissions to the Crypto eprint archive.

Submission instructions

Papers must be submitted electronically through the submission web page. Electronic submissions must conform to the procedure described in the submission server and must be received by the deadline indicated above. Electronic submission via the described interface is the only form of submission considered.

Best student paper award

This prize is for the best paper authored solely by students, where a student is a person that is considered a student by the respective institution at the time of the paper's submission. Eligibility must be indicated in the "Comments to Chair" at the time of submission. The program committee may decline to make the award, or may split it among several papers.


Proceedings will be published in Springer-Verlag's Lecture Notes in Computer Science Series and will be available at the conference. Instructions for preparing the final proceedings version will be sent to the authors of accepted papers. The final copies of the accepted papers will be due on December 24, 2012. This is a strict deadline, and authors should prepare accordingly.

Program Committee

• Masayuki Abe (NTT, Japan)
• Boaz Barak (Microsoft Research New England, USA)
• Ivan Damgård (Aarhus University, Denmark)
• Rosario Gennaro (City University of New York, USA)
• Vipul Goyal (Microsoft Research India, India)
• Thomas Holenstein (ETH Zurich, Switzerland)
• Yuval Ishai (Technion, Israel)
• Yael Kalai (Microsoft Research New England, USA)
• Allison Lewko (Microsoft Research New England, USA)
• Mohammad Mahmoody (Cornell University, USA)
• Hemanta Maji (UCLA, USA)
• Ilya Mironov (Microsoft Research Silicon Valley, USA)
• Steve Myers (Indiana University, USA)
• Krzysztof Pietrzak (IST Austria, Austria)
• Tal Rabin (IBM Research, USA)
• Alon Rosen (IDC Herzliya, Israel)
• Amit Sahai (UCLA, USA, chair)
• abhi shelat (University of Virginia, USA)
• Stefano Tessaro (MIT, USA)
• Hoeteck Wee (George Washington University, USA)

Program Chair

• Amit Sahai

General Chairs

• Masayuki Abe
• Tatsuaki Okamoto

TCC Steering Committee Members

• Mihir Bellare
• Ivan Damgård
• Oded Goldreich (chair)
• Shafi Goldwasser
• Shai Halevi
• Russell Impagliazzo
• Ueli Maurer
• Silvio Micali
• Moni Naor
• Tatsuaki Okamoto