Call for Papers

Original research papers on all technical aspects of cryptology are solicited for submission to Crypto 2002, the Twenty-Second Annual IACR Crypto Conference. Crypto 2002 is sponsored by the International Association for Cryptologic Research (IACR), in cooperation with the IEEE Computer Society Technical Committee on Security and Privacy, and the Computer Science Department of the University of California, Santa Barbara. Important Dates are:

Conference August 18 - 22, 2002
Submission deadline February 11, 2002, 17:00 EST
Notification of decision April 29, 2002
Proceedings version deadline May 31, 2002

Instructions for Authors

Submissions must not substantially duplicate work that any of the authors has published elsewhere or has submitted in parallel to any other conference or workshop that has proceedings. Accepted submissions may not appear in any other conference or workshop that has proceedings.

Submission Format: The submission must be anonymous, with no author names, affiliations, acknowledgments, or obvious references. It should begin with a title, a short abstract, and a list of keywords. The length of the submission should be at most 12 pages excluding bibliography and appendices. It should use at least 11-point fonts and have reasonable sized margins. The introduction should summarize the contributions of the paper at a level appropriate for a non-specialist reader. Committee members are not required to read appendices; the paper should be intelligible without them. Submissions not meeting these guidelines risk rejection without consideration of their merits.

Electronic Submission: Electronic submission is strongly encouraged. A detailed description of the electronic submission procedure will appear by January 20, 2002 at Electronic submissions must conform to this procedure and be received by February 11, 2002, 17:00 EST in order to be considered.

Hardcopy Submission: Authors unable to submit electronically may, as a strongly discouraged last resort, send a cover letter and 23 double-sided hardcopies of their submission to the program chair at the postal address below. Authors intending to submit via hardcopy should contact the program chair on or before February 4, 2002. Submissions must be received by the program chair on or before February 11, 2002, 17:00 EST. Late submissions, regardless of postmark, and submissions by fax will not be considered. Hardcopy submission must include a cover letter containing the paper's title and the names and affiliations of the authors, and should identify the contact author including e-mail and postal addresses.

Decisions and Presentation: Notification of acceptance or rejection will be sent to authors by April 29, 2002. Authors of accepted papers must guarantee that their paper will be presented at the conference.

Conference Proceedings: Proceedings will be published in Springer-Verlag's Lecture Notes in Computer Science and will be available at the conference. Clear instructions about the preparation of a final proceedings version will be sent to the authors of accepted papers. The final copies of the accepted papers will be due on May 31, 2002.

Program Committee

Tom Berson, Anagram Labs and Xerox PARC
Don Coppersmith, IBM Research
Giovanni Di Crescenzo, Telcordia
Hans Dobbertin, University of Bochum
Matt Franklin, UC Davis
Juan Garay, Bell Labs
Stuart Haber, Intertrust
Johan Håstad, Royal Institute of Technology
Kwangjo Kim, ICU
Alfred Menezes, Waterloo
David Naccache, Gemplus
Tatsuaki Okamoto, NTT Labs
Rafail Ostrovsky, Telcordia
Erez Petrank, The Technion
Bart Preneel, K. U. Leuven
Ron Rivest, MIT
Rei Safavi-Naini, University of Wollongong
Dan Simon, Microsoft Research
Nigel Smart, University of Bristol
Markus Stadler, Crypto AG
Eric Verheul, PricewaterhouseCoopers
Yiqun Lisa Yin, NTT MCL
Moti Yung, CertCo (program chair)

Advisory Members:
Joe Kilian, Yianilos Labs, program chair Crypto 2001
Dan Boneh, Stanford, program chair Crypto 2003

Contact Information for the Program Chair

Moti Yung
450  S.W. Mudd Building
Computer Science Department
1214 Amsterdam Avenue
New York, NY 10027-7003

Other Information

For other information contact

General Chair
Rebecca N. Wright
Crypto 2002 General Chair.
CoRE Building, 4th floor
Rutgers University
96 Frelinghuysen Road
Piscataway, NJ 08854-8018
Tel: +1 732 445-5930
Fax: +1 732 445-5932

Assistant to the Chairs
Aggelos Kiayias
Computer Science Dept.
Graduate Center, CUNY
365 Fifth Ave.
NY, NY 10036

Stipends: A limited number of stipends are available to those unable to obtain funding to attend the conference. Students whose papers are accepted and who will present the paper themselves are encouraged to apply if such assistance is needed. Requests for stipends should be addressed to the General Chair.

Back to Main