Fast Software Encryption 2005

February 21-23
ENSTA, Paris, France

Call for Papers

FSE 2005 is the 12th annual Fast Software Encryption workshop, for the fourth year sponsored by the International Association for Cryptologic Research (IACR). Original research papers on symmetric cryptology are invited for submission to FSE 2005. The workshop concentrates on all aspects of fast primitives for symmetric cryptography: the design and cryptanalysis of block and stream ciphers, as well as hash functions and message authentication codes (MACs).

Important dates

Workshop February 21 - 23, 2005
Submission deadline November 19, 2004
Notification of decision January 10, 2005
Pre-proceedings version deadline   January 31, 2005
Proceedings version deadline March 31, 2005

Instructions for Authors

Submissions must not substantially duplicate work that any of the authors has published elsewhere or has submitted in parallel to any other international conference or workshop that has proceedings.

Submission Instructions

The submission must be anonymous, with no author names, affiliations, acknowledgments, or obvious references. It should begin with a title, a short abstract, and a list of keywords. The length of the submission should be at most 12 pages excluding bibliography and appendices. It should have reasonably sized margins. The introduction should summarize the contributions of the paper at a level appropriate for a non-specialist reader. Committee members are not required to read appendices; the paper should be intelligible without them. Submissions not meeting these guidelines risk rejection without consideration of their merits. It is strongly preferred that submissions be processed in LaTeX according to the instructions listed on since this will be a mandatory requirement for the final papers.

Submitted papers must be in PDF or postscript format and should be submitted electronically. Detailed description of the electronic submission procedure will be available here:

Authors of accepted papers must guarantee that their paper will be presented at the workshop. Pre-proceedings will be available at the workshop. Proceedings are intended to be published in Springer-Verlag's Lecture Notes in Computer Science series. Instructions about the preparation of a final proceedings version will be sent to the authors of accepted papers after the workshop.

Program Committee

Kazumaro Aoki NTT, Japan
Steve Babbage Vodafone, UK
Eli Biham Technion, Israel
Anne Canteaut INRIA, France
Don Coppersmith IBM Research, USA
Joan Daemen STMicroelectronics, Belgium
Henri Gilbert (co-chair) France Telecom R&D, France
Helena Handschuh (co-chair)  Gemplus, France
Thomas Johansson Lund University, Sweden
Antoine Joux France
Xuejia Lai Shanghai Jiaotong University, China
Stefan Lucks Univ. Mannheim, Germany
Mitsuru Matsui Mitsubishi Electric, Japan
Willi Meier FH Aargau, Switzerland
Kaisa Nyberg Nokia, Finland
Bart Preneel K.U.Leuven, Belgium
Matt Robshaw Royal Holloway, University of London, UK
Palash Sarkar Indian Statistical Institute, India
Serge Vaudenay EPFL, Switzerland
Moti Yung Columbia University, USA

Workshop information

All necessary information should be available on the FSE 2005 web page:
For other information, contact one of the co-chairs: Helena Handschuh, or Henri Gilbert,


A limited number of stipends are available to those unable to obtain funding to attend the workshop. Students, whose papers are accepted and who will present the paper themselves are encouraged to apply if such assistance is needed. Requests for stipends should be addressed to one of the co-chairs.