Main Page
Call for Papers
Contact Info

IACR logo

Call for Papers

Original research papers on all technical aspects of cryptology are solicited for submission to CRYPTO 2009, the Twenty-Ninth Annual International Cryptology Conference. CRYPTO 2009 is sponsored by the International Association for Cryptologic Research (IACR), in cooperation with the Computer Science Department of the University of California, Santa Barbara.

Important Dates

Conference: August 16-20, 2009
Submission Deadline: Friday, February 13 2009, 12 noon PST
Notification of decisions: April 30, 2009
Proceedings version deadline: June 1, 2009

Instructions for Authors

It is strongly recommended that authors apply for visas to the USA at time of submission. Do not wait for the decisions.

No Concurrent Submissions:
Submissions must not substantially duplicate work that any of the authors published, submitted, or is planning to submit before the notification-date to any conference/workshop with proceedings. (Concurrent submissions to CRYPTO 2009 and to a journal are permitted.) Accepted submissions may not appear in any other conference or workshop that has proceedings. The program committees may share information about submitted papers with other conference chairs to ensure the integrity of papers under consideration. Authors uncertain whether their submission meets the IACR guidelines should contact the program chair.

Submission Format:
  • The submission must be anonymous, with no author names, affiliations, acknowledgements, or obvious references.
  • The length of the submission should be at most 12 pages excluding bibliography and appendices. It should be in single column format, use at least 11-point fonts, and have reasonable margins.
  • The submission should begin with a title, a short abstract, and a list of keywords. The introduction should summarize the contributions of the paper at a level appropriate for a non-specialist reader. Committee members are not required to read appendices; the paper should be intelligible without them.
  • Submissions must be in PDF format. Submissions should be in US letter paper size (not A4) and use Type 1 fonts (rather than Type 3 fonts).
  • Authors are encouraged to consult the Guidelines for preparing electronic submissions (from CRYPTO 2006), as well as the CRYPTO 2009 FAQ (fashioned after the FAQ list from EUROCRYPT 2007).
  • The electronic-submission site is now available at
  • Submissions not meeting these guidelines risk rejection without consideration of their merits. Neither late submissions, submissions by email, nor hardcopy submissions will be accepted. Any exeption to these rules must be coordinated with the program chair well in advance.

Authors of accepted papers must guarantee that their paper will be presented at the conference.

Conference Proceedings and Copyright:
Proceedings will be published in Springer-Verlag's Lecture Notes in Computer Science, and will be available at the conference. Instructions for the preparation of a final proceedings version will be sent to the authors of accepted papers. These authors must provide the proceedings version of their papers by May 31, 2009, and must also sign the IACR Copyright form.

Program Committee

Masayuki Abe (NTT)
Dan Boneh (Stanford University)
Christophe De Cannière (Katholieke Universiteit Leuven)
Jean-Sébastien Coron (University of Luxembourg)
Marc Fischlin (Technische Universität Darmstadt)
Steven Galbraith (Royal Holloway)
Shafi Goldwasser (MIT and Weizmann Institute)
Jens Groth (University College London)
Iftach Haitner (Microsoft Research)
Shai Halevi (IBM Research) - Chair
Yuval Ishai (Technion Israel and UCLA)
Marc Joye (Thomson R&D)
Jonathan Katz (Univ. of MD and IBM Research)
Kaoru Kurosawa (Ibaraki University)
Anna Lysyanskaya (Brown University)
Phong Q. Nguyen (INRIA & ENS)
Jesper Buus Nielsen (University of Aarhus)
Christof Paar (Ruhr-Universität Bochum)
Rafael Pass (Cornell University)
Chris Peikert (SRI International)
Krzysztof Pietrzak (CWI Amsterdam)
Benny Pinkas (University of Haifa)
Bart Preneel (Katholieke Universiteit Leuven)
Renato Renner (ETH Zurich)
Igor Shparlinski (Macquarie University)
Adam D. Smith (Pennsylvania State University)
Eran Tromer (MIT)
Salil Vadhan (Harvard University)
Yiqun Lisa Yin (Independent Consultant)
Moti Yung (Google)

Advisory Members

David Wagner, program chair CRYPTO 2008
Tal Rabin, program chair CRYPTO 2010


A limited number of stipends are available to those unable to obtain funding to attend the conference, and to students whose papers are accepted and who will present the paper themselves. Requests for stipends should be addressed to the general chair.