August 17-21, 1997
Santa Barbara, California, USA

Original papers on all technical aspects of cryptology are solicited for submission to Crypto '97, the Seventeenth Annual IACR Crypto Conference. Crypto '97 is organized by the International Association for Cryptologic Research (IACR), in cooperation with the IEEE Computer Society Technical Committee on Security and Privacy, and the Computer Science Department of the University of California, Santa Barbara. Future information on Crypto '97 is available here

Instructions for Authors

Please send a cover letter and 18 copies of an anonymous full paper (double-sided copies preferred) to the Program Chair at the postal address below. Submissions must be received by the Program Chair on or before February 13, 1997; late submissions and submissions by fax or e-mail will not be considered. The cover letter should contain the title and the names of the authors, and should identify the contact author. It also must state: "This submission does not substantially duplicate work that any of the authors have published elsewhere or have submitted in parallel to any other conference or workshop that has proceedings."

The paper must be anonymous, with no author names, affiliations, acknowledgments or obvious references. It should begin with a title, a short abstract, and a list of key words, and its introduction should summarize the contributions of the paper at a level appropriate for a non- specialist reader. The paper should be at most 12 pages excluding the bibliography and clearly marked appendices, and at most 15 pages total. Committee members are not required to read appendices, so the paper should be intelligible without them. Submissions not meeting these guidelines risk rejection without consideration of their merits.

Proceedings will be published in Springer-Verlag's Lecture Notes in Computer Science and will be available at Crypto '97. Authors of accepted papers must guarantee that their paper will be presented at the conference. As part of ensuring a well-rounded program for the increasingly diverse audience, authors will be expected to coordinate their presentation plans with assigned session chairs prior to the conference.

Important dates for authors

Submission: February 13, 1997 Acceptance: April 21, 1997 Proceedings version: May 30, 1997

Program Committee

Antoon Bosselaers,Katholieke Universiteit Leuven, Belgium
Gilles Brassard, Universite de Montreal, Canada
Johannes Buchmann, Techniche Hochschule Darmstadt, Germany
Ivan Damgard, Aarhus University, Denmark
Donald Davies, Royal Holloway College London, United Kingdom
Alfredo de Santis, Universita di Salerno, Italy
Burt Kaliski, program chair, RSA Laboratories, USA
Susan Langford, Atalla Corporation, USA
James L. Massey, Swiss Federal Institute of Technology, Switzerland
David Naccache, Gemplus, France
Moni Naor, Weizmann Institute, Israel
Tatsuaki Okamoto, NTT Laboratories, Japan
Douglas Stinson, University of Nebraska, USA
Michael J. Wiener, Nortel, Canada
Rebecca Wright, AT&T Labs, USA
Yuliang Zheng, Monash University, Australia
Advisory Members:
Neal Koblitz, Crypto '96 program chair, University of Washington, USA
Hugo Krawczyk, Crypto '98 program chair, IBM T.J. Watson Research Center, USA

Send Submissions to

Burt Kaliski, Program Chair, Crypto '97
RSA Laboratories
20 Crosby Drive
Bedford, MA 01730 USA
Phone: +1 617 687 7057
Fax: +1 617 687 7019

For Other Information Contact:

Bruce Schneier, General Chair, Crypto '97
Counterpane Systems
101 E Minnehaha Parkway
Minneapolis, MN 55419 USA
Phone: +1 612 823 1098
Fax: +1 612 823 1590


A limited number of stipends are available to those unable to obtain funding to attend the conference. Students whose papers are accepted and who will present the paper themselves are encouraged to apply if such assistance is needed. Requests for stipends should be addressed to the General Chair.
Crypto 97 main page

IACR home page