August 18-22, 1996
Santa Barbara, California, USA


General Information:

Crypto '96, the Sixteenth Annual Crypto Conference, is organized by the International Association for Cryptologic Research (IACR), in cooperation with the IEEE Computer Society Technical Committee on Security and Privacy, and the Computer Science Department of the University of California, Santa Barbara. Original papers are solicited on all technical aspects of cryptology.

Instructions for Authors:

Please send a cover letter, one title page and 16 copies of an extended abstract. They must be received by the Program Chair at the address given below no later than February 14, 1996 (or postmarked by February 4, 1996 and sent via airmail).

The cover letter must state:

This paper does not substantially duplicate work that any of the authors have published elsewhere or have submitted in parallel to any other conference or workshop that has proceedings.

The title page should contain the title, the names of the authors, their postal and e-mail addresses and the short abstract; it should be made clear who is the author to whom correspondence should be sent. The first page of the extended abstract should be an informal one-page statement (that will not be published in the Proceedings) describing the content of the oral presentation that will be given at Crypto '96 in the event the paper is accepted (this statement is expected to be different from the short abstract of the paper). This page and the extended abstract must be anonymous, i.e., they must contain no indication whatsoever of the identity of the author(s). The main body of the extended abstract should start with the title, short abstract, and list of keywords. This should be followed by a succinct statement appropriate for a non-specialist reader specifying the subject addressed, its background, the main achievements, and their significance to cryptology. Technical details directed to the specialist should then follow.

Submissions are limited to 10 single-spaced pages of 11pt type, not counting the bibliography and clearly marked appendices. Since referees are not required to read the appendices, the paper should be intelligible without them. The paper including bibliography and appendices must run to no more than 15 pages. These limits will be strictly enforced.

Unfortunately, because of the burdens on the Program Committee and the need to keep strictly to the time schedule, we will have to summarily reject any submission not in keeping with the above instructions.

Authors are encouraged to make 2-sided copies if possible. Please send submissions by post; unfortunately, we cannot accept submissions by e-mail or fax.

Notification of acceptance or rejection will be sent to authors on April 22, 1996.

Conference Proceedings:

Proceedings will be available at the meeting. They will be published in the Springer-Verlag Lecture Notes in Computer Science. Clear instructions about the final copy will be sent to authors of accepted papers. The final copies of the accepted papers will be due on June 1, 1996. Final papers arriving too late will be removed from the main program. Authors of accepted papers must guarantee that their paper will be presented at the conference.


A limited number of stipends are available to those unable to obtain funding to attend the conference. Students whose papers are accepted and who will present the paper themselves are encouraged to apply if such assistance is needed. Requests for stipends should be addressed to the general chair.

Send submissions to:

  Neal Koblitz, Program Chair, Crypto '96
  Dept. of Mathematics, Box 354350
  Room C-138 Padelford Hall
  University of Washington
  Seattle, WA 98195 U.S.A.

  Phone: 1-206-543-4386

For other information contact:

  Richard Graveman, General Chair, Crypto '96
  444 Hoes Lane RM 1K-221
  Piscataway, NJ 08854 USA

  Phone: 1-908-699-4611

Program Committee:

Neal Koblitz, Chair (Mathematics, University of Washington, USA)
Mihir Bellare (Computer Science, University of California at San Diego, USA)
Josh Benaloh (Microsoft, USA)
Matt Blaze (AT&T Bell Laboratories, USA)
Johannes Buchmann (Computer Science, Universität des Saarlandes, Germany)
Don Coppersmith (IBM Research, USA)
Joan Feigenbaum (AT&T Bell Laboratories, USA)
Andrew Klapper (Computer Science, University of Kentucky, USA)
Lars Knudsen (Computer Science, Ecole Normale Superieure, France)
Peter Landrock (Mathematics, Aarhus University, Denmark)
Tsutomu Matsumoto (Electrical & Computer Engineering, Yokohama National University, Japan)
Chris Mitchell (Computer Science, University of London, UK)
Paul Van Oorschot (Bell-Northern Research, Canada)
Bart Preneel (Catholic University at Leuven, Belgium)
Rainer Rueppel (R3 Security Engineering, Switzerland)
Jacques Stern (Computer Science, Ecole Normale Superieure, France)

[ Crypto 96 main page ] [ IACR home page ]