Fast Software Encryption Workshop 2001

April 2-4, 2001   Royal Park Hotel Nikko, Yokohama, Japan


General Information

Fast Software Encryption is a seven-year-old workshop on symmetric cryptography, including the design and cryptanalysis of block and stream ciphers, as well as hash functions. The first Fast Software Encryption Workshop was held in Cambridge in 1993, followed by Leuven in 1994, Cambridge in 1996, Haifa in 1997,  Paris in 1998, Rome in 1999, and New York in 2000. The eighth Fast Software Encryption Workshop, FSE2001, will be held from 2-4 April 2001 in Yokohama, Japan, in cooperation with
Institute of Industrial Science, The University of Tokyo. For more information, see .

Instructions for Authors

Interested parties are invited to submit original unpublished papers on the design and cryptanalysis of symmetric encryption algorithms and hash functions. It is strongly preferred that submissions be processed in LaTeX according to Springer-Verlag's instructions, since this will be a mandatory requirement for the final papers. The paper must not exceed 15 pages in length. The papers are to be sent electronically in PostScript, Portable Document Format (PDF), or Microsoft Word format, together with the email and physical addresses of the sender. If papers are submitted in paper form, 12 copies are required. The papers must not be submitted simultaneously to other workshops or conferences with proceedings.

Conference Proceedings

Preproceedings will be available at the workshop, and the final proceedings will be published in Springer-Verlag's Lecture Notes in Computer Science.

Address for Submission

Mitsuru Matsui
Information Technology R&D Center
Mitsubishi Electric Corporation
5-1-1 Ofuna, Kamakura, Kanagawa
247-8501, Japan

Important Dates

Paper Submission December 29, 2000
Notification of acceptance February 28, 2001
Final copy of preproceedings March 16, 2001
The workshop April 2-4, 2001
Final copy of proceedings May 1, 2001

General Chair

Hideki Imai
Department of Electrical Engineering and Electronics
Institute of Industrial Science
University of Tokyo

Program Committee

Ross Anderson (Cambridge University)
Eli Biham (Technion)
Cunsheng Ding (Singapore)
Henri Gilbert (France Telecom)
Dieter Gollman (Microsoft)
Thomas Johansson (Lund University)
Lars Knudsen (Bergen University)
James Massey (Denmark)
Mitsuru Matsui (Mitsubishi Electric, Program Chair)
Kaisa Nyberg (Nokia)
Bart Preneel (Katholieke Universiteit Leuven)
Bruce Schneier (Counterpane)


FSE2001 is made possible by the generous sponsorship of Mitsubishi Electric.

Last updated in June 30, 2000

[Back to FSE2001 Home Page]