Preface, IACR, EUROCRYPT 2012

These are the proceedings of Eurocrypt 2010, the 29th in the series of European conferences on the Theory and Application of Cryptographic Techniques. The conference was sponsored by the International Association for Cryptologic Research and held on the French Riviera between May 30 and June 3, 2010.

A total of 191 papers were received of which 188 were retained as valid submissions. These were each assigned to at least three Program Committee members and a total of 606 review reports were produced. The printed record of the reviews and extensive online discussions that followed would be almost as voluminous as these proceedings. In the end 35 submissions were accepted with two submission pairs being merged to give 33 papers presented at the conference. The final papers in these proceedings were not subject to a second review before publication and the authors are responsible for their contents.

The Program Committee, listed on the next page, deserves particular thanks for all their hard work, their outstanding expertise, and their constant commitment to all aspects of the evaluation process. These thanks are of course extended to the very many external reviewers who took the time to help out during the evaluation process. It was also a great pleasure to honour and welcome Moti Yung who gave the 2010 IACR Distinguished Lecture.

It might be recalled that Eurocrypt 2010 took place under exceptionally difficult circumstances. First, in the aftermath of the financial crisis, sponsorship was a low priority for many companies. We are therefore grateful to I3S, Ingenico, Microsoft, Nagravision, Oberthur, Orange Labs, Qualcomm, Sagem Sécurité, and Technicolor for their support of Eurocrypt 2010. We specifically acknowledge the kind efforts of Hervé Chabanne, Guillaume Dabosville, Jean-Bernard Fischer, Paul Friedel, Marc Joye, François Larbey, Kristin Lauter, Bruno Martin, David Naccache, Jim Ostrich, and Greg Rose for making it happen. Second, long-standing plans for Eurocrypt 2010 were disrupted by the sudden decision of the French government to hold an international summit at the same time and at the same venue. For their help following this forced relocation, we would like to extend our gratitude to our friends and family members who helped with wise advice, good connections, and imaginative suggestions.

We would like to thank the IACR board for the honour of hosting Eurocrypt 2010. Particular thanks are due to Shai Halevi for all his unseen work on the submission, review, and registration sites, to Antoine Joux for sharing his experience as Program Chair of Eurocrypt 2009, and to Helena Handschuh and Bart Preneel for their constant advice, help, and support. Last, but not least, we are grateful for the help and input of our colleagues Ryad Benadjila, Gilles Macario-Rat, and Yannick Seurin, all at Orange Labs.

Henri Gilbert, Program Chair
Olivier Billet and Matthew Robshaw, General Chair March, 2010